Shared repositories

Since a repository is stored on the file system, it is possible to place a repository on a network or shared drive so that it is accessible to multiple users.

When a repository is shared it is important that all users have access to the same resources in order to produce consistent results.

This is particularly true for fonts. Fonts referenced in the font configuration must be installed on each machine that uses the repository, and must be installed in the same location on each machine. When using a shared repository it is strongly recommended that you disable the Automatically add new typefaces option in the font configuration dialog so you can control the typefaces that are available for use in stylesheets.